





Draft program Conference on "Road to Recovery"

24 November 2023 09:00-13:30 LEIPZIG, Germany Location: Steigenberger Hotel

Interpretation: EN DE

08:30 Registration of participants

09:00-09:20 <u>Welcome by</u>

Marion WALSMANN MEP, Vice-Chair of the German Delegation of the EPP-Group in the European Parliament Oliver SCHENK, Chief of the Saxon State Chancellery and State Minister

09:20-09:30 Introductory remarks by Siegfried MUREŞAN MEP, Vice-Chair of the EPP Group in the European Parliament, Chairman of the Working Group for Budget and Structural Policies

09:30-10:00 Keynote speech

Johannes HAHN, Commissioner for Budget and Administration

Special intervention by

Sven SCHULZE, Minister for Economic Affairs, Tourism, Agriculture and Forestry of the Federal State of Saxony-Anhalt, Member of EPP-CoR

10:00-11:20 Panel I

Involvement of local authorities in the design and implementation of the Recovery Plan: lessons learnt

<u>Moderated by</u> Jan OLBRYCHT MEP, Vice-Chair of the EPP Group in the European Parliament

Opening by

Rob JONKMAN, Alderman of the municipality of Opsterland, Netherlands, Member of EPP-CoR, Rapporteur for the opinion on the implementation of the Recovery and Resilience Facility

Franz-Josef WILLEMS, Managing Director, EPC Engineering & Technologies GmbH

Speakers:

Peter JAHR MEP, Member of the Committee on Regional Development (REGI)

Thomas GOTTWEISS, Member of the CDU-Group in the State Parliament of Thuringia, Energy Policy Spokesman **Peter KLEINE**, Lord Mayor of Weimar

Open debate

11:20-11:50 Coffee Break

11:50-13:10 Panel II

Enhancing synergies between the recovery funds and the traditional EU funds: key to a speedy recovery and resilience

Moderated by

Olgierd GEBLEWICZ, President of the EPP Group in the European Committee of the Regions and President of West Pomerania Region

Opening by

Andy GRABNER, District Administrator of the Anhalt - Bitterfeld district

Speakers:

Karolin BRAUNSBERGER-REINHOLD MEP, Member of the Committee on Regional Development (REGI)
Bernd SOMMER, Mayor of Waldsassen
André NEUMANN, Lord Mayor of Altenburg
Sven LIEBHAUSER, Lord Mayor of the large district town of Döbeln

Open debate

13:10-13:30 Concluding remarks by

Siegfried MUREŞAN MEP, Vice-Chair of the EPP Group, Chairman of the Working Group for Budget and Structural Policies **Peter JAHR** MEP, Member of the Committee on Regional Development (REGI)

Lunch, Restaurant located on the 1st floor of the Steigenberger Hotel